Gamification in the Classroom

381096_infographic

This is a great infographic to examine when considering justifying gamification of the classroom. I would definitely agree with the skills that teachers notice through gameplay in the classroom: communication, problem-solving, collaboration, and negotiation. In my own classroom, I love watching kids test out how to work together and discuss problems and develop perseverance through games. What do you think? Do you think gameplay has a role in the classroom?

I also found it so interesting to look at the progression of the Oregon Trail game. That game seems to reach generations of learners. I teach fourth grade this year, and anytime I tell anyone I am teaching the Oregon Trail, they mention their experience within that game. I love that, despite its simplicity and level of difficulty, it resonates with learners in lasting ways. To me, that is great evidence for gamification in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

