Learning Theory Mash-Up

I created a learning theory based on one of my traditional teaching identities: constructivism combined with a learning theory that is newer to me, but equally as interesting important in my practice: gamification. Within my classroom, I strive to create a culture where students grow to become confident, independent problem solvers and see themselves in the driving seat of their own education as they develop their passions. Constructivism believes that learners grow their own knowledge by exploring and experimenting. Gamification adds game elements to educational experiences to increase engagement and make learning accessible for 21st century students. By combining these two ideas, my learning theory utilizes game components to allow students to construct their own ideas. In this way, students are more intrinsically motivated, experience active learning, and have a safe space to make mistakes.

After perusing my infographic, I’d love to hear your thoughts on this mash-up. Leave me a comment about the ways you see them interacting! Please also consider: How does assessment work with a constructivist-gamification approach? What types of assessment would be useful to measure student learning? Does this type of mash-up exclude any learning theory that is paramount to a 21st century learner? How would this theory be different if I were a teacher of a different (non-digital) era?

new-piktochart_19482959_0f3a4889fefae61f0c8c697fd159b1ffdaae9b1c

Leave a Reply

